The Audio Production Awards return with extended entry period

The Audio Production Awards, sponsored by Audible are back for a fourteenth year.

Organised by AudioUK, entry for the Awards opened earlier this year, so applicants have longer than in previous years.

Chloe Straw, Managing Director of AudioUK, said: “I am delighted that the APAs now sit alongside an ever-increasing number of audio awards ceremonies – testament to the thriving popularity of audio.

“The APAs have really stood the test of time, as this year marks their 14th year. What started as a small ceremony is now a yearly staple at the BFI in London. There is always an enormous effort that goes into bringing the awards to life from the APAs team, and I am very grateful to them for their work.

“It is really important to have an opportunity to celebrate audio across the industry, as well as an opportunity to really shine the light on producers, who are so central to the audio industry and to AudioUK as an organisation.

“Once again Audible are supporting us as the lead sponsor, for which we are extremely grateful – enabling us to celebrate the many excellent people who make up the audio industry.

“We’re committed to there not being any barriers to entry, so if you can’t afford to enter the awards, please take advantage of the Pay What You Can scheme, which we run in partnership with Amazon Music & Wondery, or if you face other barriers to entry, please get in touch with the team.

“What started as something that was focussed purely on the independent sector retains that independent spirit but has now been opened up to the whole audio industry. So get your best audio ready to battle it out across the categories.”

There are 23 categories ranging from Best Producer in Comedy, Factual, Drama & Fiction, Arts, Music, Entertainment, Lifestyle & Society, Audiobooks, Sound Design and more, plus a variety of on-mic and emerging talent awards, Best Ensemble Cast, and the special AudioUK award – last year awarded to Reform Radio.

This year, there is a new category, Little Ears Producer, which celebrates the explosion of audio being created for younger audiences.

Winners from the 2023 awards included Anishka Sharma who took the coveted Producer of the Year award, Overcoat Media were our Production Company of the Year, Kwesia AKA City Girl in Nature took home Best New Voice and Betty Glover, Christian Hewgill and Greg James were voted Best Ensemble.

As usual, there are awards for Production Company of the Year, Publisher or Network of the Year, as well as the continuation of last year’s addition of Producer of the Year and The Sustainability & Climate Award.      

Once again, the Grassroots Production category will celebrate producers, teams and/or organisations working close to their communities, and this category will be free to enter, recognising the particular challenges faced in that part of the sector.

Early Bird entry fee is frozen at 2018’s prices of £35+VAT for AudioUK Members and £45+VAT for non-members and will run until Wednesday 31 July at 9am. From then on, the standard entry fee will be £50+VAT for AudioUK Members and £60+VAT for non-members until the final deadline on Wednesday 11 September at 2pm. There will be no late extension to the entry deadline.

With support from Amazon Music and Wondery, AudioUK will be running the Pay What You Can scheme for a third year, offering discounted entry rates and tickets for those under financial constraints, who would otherwise be unable to enter and attend the Awards. To access the scheme email

To enter, and see all category descriptions, eligibility criteria, and further details go to the Audio Production Awards website.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

You might also like