Nominations announced for 2021 Audio Production Awards

Jordan North & Vick Hope, hosts of Radio 1’s Drivetime show, have been confirmed as the hosts of this year’s Audio Production Awards (APAs) event to be held on Wednesday 24 November.

The awards, sponsored by Audible, will be held at a gala evening at the BFI on London’s South Bank.

Vick Hope Jordan North
Vick Hope and Jordan North

The APAs, organised by AudioUK, celebrate the craft skills behind radio, podcast, and audiobook production. There are 21 categories in total spanning audiobooks, podcasting and radio.

This year’s nominees include ZeZe Mills and David ‘Sideman’ Whitely, the hosts of Amazon Music’s first ever podcast, the ‘+44 Podcast’ in the new category of Best Ensemble Cast. The category’s nominations also feature BAFTA-winning Kurupt FM for their work with Audible.

Arsenal football legend Ian Wright is nominated for Best Host – Speech Audio for his Somethin’ Else produced podcast ‘Ian Wright’s Everyday People’.

Prolific actor Olivia Coleman has been nominated for Best Narrator for her work with Harper Collins.

Ade Oladipo at talkSPORT has been nominated for Best New Voice. Among other achievements Olapido was one of the team on the show ‘Kick-Off: Added Time’, which was the first ever Audio Content Fund-financed programme to be broadcast.

Chloe Straw, Managing Director of AudioUK, said: “We’ve once again got a fantastic set of nominations which reflect a broad range of talent in the sector. We’re looking forward to a really great night in a few weeks, a chance for the industry to get together and celebrate the very best in UK podcasting, audiobook and radio production”.

APAs Nominees 2021

Best Arts Producer
Ben Walker – Storyglass in association with English Touring Theatre
Caroline Thornham – Novel
Geoff Bird – Freelance
Leonie Thomas – Whistledown Productions
Michael Umney – Novel
Sarah Jane Murray – Storyglass

Best Audiobook Producer
Caroline Raphael – Freelance
Dirk Maggs – Audible Studios
Lisa Hollinshead – Audiobook Productions
Richard Hughes – Anyway Audio
Rosemary O’Dowd – RNIB / Freelance
Tanya Hougham – HarperCollins UK

Best Drama Producer
Ben Walker – Storyglass
Dirk Maggs – Audible Studios
Emma Haigh – Big Finish Productions
Jacob Roberts-Mensah – Our Day
Nicolas Jackson – Afonica
Rosalind Ayres – Jarvis & Ayres Productions

Best Ensemble Cast
Elis James & John Robins – Audio Always
Kat Harbourne & Jenny Eells – BBC Radio Sheffield
Kurupt FM: MC Grindah, DJ Beats, Steves and Chabuddy G – Audible
Nikita & Islah – TBI Media
Sofa Cinema Club: Jack P Shepherd, Colson Smith and Ben Price – Audio Always
Zeze Millz & David ‘Sideman’ Whitely – Amazon Music

Best Entertainment Producer Sponsored by Outset Studio
Geoff Jein – TBI Media
Lance Dann – Rezilience Ltd
Liam Conroy – BBC Radio 1
Natalia Rodriguez – Wolfgang Radio
Will Wilkin – BBC Radio 1

Best Factual Producer Sponsored by Audio Content Fund
Emma Barnaby – Whistledown Productions
Geoff Bird – Freelance
Joe Kent – BBC Long Form Audio
Martin Austwick – Freelance
Sean Allsop – Audio Always
Will Roe – Wireless Studios

Best Host – Music Audio
Dermot O’Leary – Ora Et Labora
GuyB – Great Music Stories Radio
Jerelle Forbes – Prison Radio Association
Miranda Sawyer – Freelance
Ricky Wilson – Made in Manchester
Vick Hope – BBC Audio

Best Host – Speech Audio Sponsored by Outset Studio
Alice Roberts – Made in Manchester
Brenda Birungi AKA Lady Unchained – Folded Wing and Prison Radio Association
Danny Robins – Bafflegab Productions
Elinor Hamilton – Tadah Media
Elis James & John Robins – Audio Always
Ian Wright – Somethin’ Else

Best Music Producer
Ashley Byrne – Made in Manchester
Geoff Bird – Freelance
Jack Howson – Reduced Listening
Jesse Howard – Somethin’ Else
Natalie Steed – Freelance
Steven Rajam – Overcoat Media

Best Narrator
Andy Serkis – HarperCollins Audio
Carl Prekopp – Almost Tangible
Colleen Prendergast – Almost Tangible
David Bower – Penguin Random House
David Haig – Pier Productions Ltd
Olivia Colman – HarperCollins UK

Best New Podcast Producer Sponsored by Acast
Anna Staufenberg – Crowd Network
Jessica Beck – Freelance
Meera Kumar – Freelance
Olivia Swift – Reform Radio
Victor Lee – The Lunar Company
Weyland McKenzie-Witter – Freelance

Best New Radio Producer Sponsored by Cleanfeed
Bradley Duggan – Listen
Eleanor Biggs – Novel
Hunter Charlton – Burning Bright Audio
Michael Dale – Somethin’ Else
Rosie Merotra – Somethin’ Else
Sami El-Enany – Falling Tree Productions

Best New Voice
Ade Oladipo – talkSPORT
Dom Stephens – Freelance
Jack Blanchard – POLITICO Europe / Whistledown Productions
Josie Bevan – Falling Tree Productions
Liza Ward – Whistledown Productions
Zakia Sewell – Falling Tree Productions

Best News Producer
Asya Fouks – The Times and The Sunday Times
Courtney Yusuf – The Guardian
Elizabeth Cassin – The Guardian
James Shield – The Times and The Sunday Times
Rachel Stonehouse – BBC Newsbeat
Robert Nicholson – Whistledown Productions

Best Sound Design Producer
Martin Austwick – Freelance
Nicholas Alexander – Novel
Emma Barnaby – Whistledown Productions
Phil Smith – Falling Tree Productions / Freelance
The Skewer – Unusual Productions
Steve Bond – Freelance

Best Sports Producer Sponsored by In:Quality
Andrew Spence – Unedited
Ben Mundy – BBC Newsbeat
Chris Browning – Formula 1
Olly Clink – talkSPORT
Steve Hankey – Whistledown Productions
Tayo Popoola – Freelance

Best Station Sound Producer
Adam Venton – Little Monster Media
Ali Rezakhani – BBC Sounds
Chris Nicoll – WIZZFX
Mark Jeeves – Scala Radio
Rob Green – Audio Always
Sam Parker – WIZZFX

Gethin Thomas Award for Best Comedy Producer
Andy Cartwright – Soundscape Productions
Lance Dann – Rezilience Ltd
Kurt Brookes – Made in Manchester
Jon Holmes – Unusual
Paul Carter AKA Benbrick – Novel

Grassroots Production Award Sponsored by The Podcasting, Seriously Awards Fund
Lucy Evans – Fierce Green Productions
The Last Bohemians
Miran Hadžić – Miran Hadžić Productions
We Are VOICES – British Red Cross

Life in COVID-19 Award
Judith Dimant & Julian Wilkinson – Wayward Productions
Justin Dealey – BBC Three Counties Radio
2000 AD Dramas – Penguin Random House
Ivor Manley & Holly Aquilina – Radio Wolfgang
Sue Nelson & Luke Hastings – Boffin Media / BBC OS
Victoria Ferran & Kim Normanton – Just Radio Ltd

Production Company of the Year
Audio Always
Fresh Air Productions
Made in Manchester
Whistledown Productions

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

You might also like